RSS

The Pain of Transitioning to Botswana (or, How Many Shots Does it Take to Get to Botswana?)

03 Aug

I have to get medically cleared to move to Botswana.  This is a process I began a few months ago and I have yet to complete.  I received a telephone call warning me that I had until 9 August to complete the process or I would have to begin over again.  Who wants to do that?

So, I reluctantly scheduled and completed a:

  • colonoscopy – which was not as bad as I had anticipated.  The worse part was the preparation process;
  • mammogram – which was more painful than I ever remembered in the past;
  • blood work – I managed not to pass out;and,
  • scheduled chest x-ray – Ha!  I arrive for the x-ray only to discover my primary care physician has not followed the ways acceptable to the radiology clinic.  My primary care physician is out of the country until the end of the month!  Here we go!  I have to get that chest x-ray!;
  • Immunizations – I was able to get tetanus, hepatitis A &B, yellow fever, and the second rabies shot.  Another rabies shot, typhoid, and Hep B next week and I will be all shot out – or is it up!

The pain I am willing to endure to be on my African journey!

Stay tuned…

 
6 Comments

Posted by on August 3, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “The Pain of Transitioning to Botswana (or, How Many Shots Does it Take to Get to Botswana?)

  1. Jill

    August 4, 2011 at 10:42 AM

    I really admire you for going through this. My “small” trip to Manila didn’t require all of this! A few shots and off I went. Can’t wait to read more my insipirational friend.

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 4, 2011 at 10:59 AM

      Hey Jill!
      Thanks for your kind words. I am SO looking forward to the continuation of this adventure. I will keep you posted here!

      God’s Peace.

       
  2. Amy Magee

    August 4, 2011 at 3:27 PM

    Oh my.. You’ve had more immunizations that Lucy and Phoebs.. Wow. I had no idea you would have to go through all of that. You should be immune to everything now! – Amy

     
  3. Maria Sol Russell

    August 5, 2011 at 9:43 AM

    I know what you mean about all the things we need to do!! I had to get another chest xray and all the above! I have a Dr. in Alexandria that I did that with if you are looking for one, but Aug 9th is very close by so you probably already have it schecduled!! Good luck with all the shots!! Graciela and Luther got sick from some of them! Flu like symtoms. Hopefully you don’t. Take care.

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 6, 2011 at 12:04 AM

      Hey Maria!
      So far, so good. No sicknesses. Yea!
      Now moving – NO FUN!

       

Leave a Reply

 
