RSS

Getting My Steps In Order

01 Aug

“The steps of a good man are ordered by the LORD and He delights in his way.                                               ~ Psalm 37:23

“The journey of a thousand miles must begin with a single step.” ~ Lao Tzu

This has been a year of constant moving for me, five so far, and counting. Each move means that I am one step further on my African journey towards Botswana.

Move One:  My husband relocated to the States after spending almost three years overseas.  He left Kuwait the end of February.  There was about a month’s period between him arriving in the States and beginning his new job in northern Virginia (NoVA) in March.

Move Two:  Since my husband was working and living overseas; and, I was living in an apartment in Richmond, most of our household effects (HHE) were in storage.  We had to coordinate the pickup from two different locations.  One personal storage unit and the other at another location provided by my husband’s previous employer.  And still there was Richmond….

Move Three:  In March, we packed up my things in Richmond and I made the transition and relocated with him to northern Virginia.  We arrived in NoVA on a Friday with only what could fit into the back of his car and trunk and in the back of my Explorer truck.  He began class the following Monday and I began the arduous task of REALLY moving.  Weight limitations were imposed by his current employer for the professional movers who would move my things.  This created the need for me to move more of my things over the next month from Richmond to NoVA.  By the time I was finished, I was left with aches in places that I had never realized were on the human body.  Nonetheless, I reveled in the thought that I had been successful in accomplishing week-end-trek-moving with assistance from my daughters – and the moving professionals for the really heavy lifting.

Move Four:  I helped our daughter move into her new house.  It is her first home purchase and we are excited for her.  Nothing says that you are all grown up quite like a mortgage.

Move Five: This week we will move into another apartment.  The apartment we currently occupy is to be renovated. We qualify for a two bedroom, but we will be moved into a one-bedroom renovation.  The bad news – besides this additional unplanned move: There is still only one toilet in the renovation!  The good news: The renovated apartment will come with a washer and dryer in the unit.  No more traipsing up and down stairs to find a floor with available washers and dryers (actually there is an elevator – but still).

Move Six:  The BIG move.  We move to Botswana.  We leave early September for 2 years in Botswana. Once we are there, we will not have to move again – well, at least not for two years!

I am enthusiastic and hopefully optimistic about this a-MA-zing adventure GOD is granting me…with all of its steps along the way.

I am SO happy to be “on my African journey”.  Stay tuned…

 
16 Comments

Posted by on August 1, 2011 in Africa, Botswana, Moving, Travel

 

16 responses to “Getting My Steps In Order

  1. Sundra Hominik

    August 1, 2011 at 10:36 AM

    What a great beginning to what I know will be a fabulous journey. Thank you for deciding to blog about your adventures to help keep us updated? When do you all make the BIG move?

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 1, 2011 at 12:56 PM

      Thanks Sundra! I think that it is a wonderfully fabulous journey. We leave the first week in September.

       
  2. Maria Sol Russell

    August 1, 2011 at 11:50 AM

    Charlotte-Marie, I enjoyed reading your blog and GOD is probablyy smiling right now that you so Happy about his plan. I am also excited for you and hope the time in Botswana is a journey of self and adventure. I too started a blog on Face Book when we first moved here, I have writing several pages but have stopped since all my operations and being in a slump. You have inspired me again to start writing, Many of my friends keep asking me to write again so their wishes will be granted. Thanks again for sharing and I look forward to reading more from your “on my African journey”. Take care now and hope to see you before we leave to Fiji mid Aug.

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 1, 2011 at 12:55 PM

      Hey Maria! Thanks for reading. I am pleased that you have been encouraged. I look forward to seeing you soon!

       
  3. Robyn Bumgardner

    August 1, 2011 at 12:05 PM

    What a wonderful opportunity! I can’t wait to see what comes of this venture. New quilts inspired by new surroundings? Hmmmm, I’m definitely seeing artistic, hand-crafted, beautiful objects for sale for the benefit of a very worthy cause.

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 1, 2011 at 12:54 PM

      Thanks Robyn! I can hardly wait myself. It promises to be quite the adventure. Thanks for your encouragement and support! I am so thinking about the worthy causes also.

       
  4. Kurt E. Ackermann

    August 2, 2011 at 7:23 PM

    So no El Salvador hunh!
    Wow so happy for you! That is great news! I will keep up with you in all that you do now! Praise God! Praise Him Praise Him Praise Him! 🙂

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 3, 2011 at 7:56 PM

      Thanks Kurt! We are excited about the move. I regret not going to El Salvador last year when time and finances afforded. Now, it appears that trip will have to be on hold for a while.
      I am praising GOD for what he has in store for your work in El Salvador and what HE has for us in Botswana. I also praise Him for the way He is using you and your family to minister to the people of El Salvador, as well as the inspiration you are to me.

      Oh magnify the LORD with me, let us exalt HIS Name together!
      Much love to you and Susan and the kids.
      GOD’s Peace.

      Thanks for reading and thanks for subscribing.

       
  5. Wanda

    August 2, 2011 at 9:13 PM

    Wow!!! I have been off line pretty much for seveal weeks and I’m blown away at what has been happening! Sounds fantastic and a little scary. The Lord has prepared me many times in my life for big changes too and it always brought me comfort and assurance of his plan and controll over the situation. Let me know when you are ready for visitors. It’s a long way to come for lunch but we were trying to get together you know!

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 3, 2011 at 8:00 PM

      HEY WANDA!
      Thanks for reading my blog! It is fantastic and exciting! I really don’t have any fear. I am glad that you can relate to the preparation GOD has laid down in my life. Nothing is more assuring than knowing I am walking in GOD’s plan – because HE is in control!

      I can assure you that I will be ready for visitors right away. You are welcome ANYtime. And since you’re coming, you might as well stay for lunch and dinner too!

      GOD’s Peace.

       
  6. Gwen P.

    August 29, 2011 at 9:33 AM

    Charlotte-Marie-

    I can’t WAIT to follow your adventure. I feel so blessed that you are my friend!

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 29, 2011 at 12:15 PM

      Thanks Gwen! And, I am so proud to have you call me Friend! I really appreciate your support! See all of the exclamation points, That how much I mean it!

       
  7. Joann Rowe Garrison

    September 9, 2011 at 9:11 PM

    Charlotte, saw your message somewhere you will be missed as always. I think of you often and the times we had in choir and you trying to keep Stephanie and myself straight, took an old man to do that (HA HA). Take care and I will follow your journey. Praying for you and your family. Joann

     
  8. whoputyouonpause

    September 20, 2011 at 12:27 PM

    I am so excited for you my friend!!! You are such an adventurer-and I love it!!!
    I am also happy to know that you’ll be sharing your adventures with us!

    Stay safe, Stay Bless! Write soon!
    Marcia

     
  9. bea

    October 8, 2011 at 8:44 AM

    Hi Charlotte, I love reading your posts, you seems really happy in Botswana, keep enjoying. Please say hello to your husband and grandson.

    Cheers,

    Bea

     

Leave a Reply

 
