RSS

My African Journey Begins

30 Jul

For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the LORD, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.  Jeremiah 29:11 (KJV)

I began “on My African Journey” with a thought.  It was the thought of being in Africa for more than a week.  It was my desire to experience Africa, specifically Botswana up close and personally.

After discovering and watching The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency quite by accident on Netflix – I did not have HBO and I had not yet read Alexander McCall Smith’s novels – I dreamed about being in this African nation.  For me this meant perhaps a vacation for a couple of weeks – at best.

I mentioned  – more like declared – my desire to go to Botswana to my daughters who humored their mother’s current infatuation, as only daughters can.

I began checking flights and plotting just how I would be able to finance such a trip with or without a travel buddy.  Over the course of the next few months, reality set in and I accepted that while it was good for me to dream, it was better for me to settle into reality and get about the business of being where I was.  So, Botswana became a pleasant but distant thought.

In a message thread – on facebook – to one of my friends on May 14, 2010, I made the following comments:  “I would love to experience Botswana. Perhaps some day.”

In March 2011 faced with twenty (20) possibilities, my husband received an assignment to Botswana.  I would be moving to Botswana!  My daughter reminded me that a couple of years prior I had said that I wanted to live in Botswana.  She wondered aloud why I was surprised that this assignment had been given to us.

I have learned that GOD seldom yells HIS plans for us but speaks to us in the voice of a loving caring Father.  And, sometimes He speaks to us through people or other methods.  In the Old Testament He spoke through a donkey (Numbers 22:28).  In the New Testament Jesus promised that if His disciples kept silent stones would cry out (Luke 19:40).  I feel that GOD gently planted in my heart what was to come through The No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency drama.

Sure, I would have eventually accepted going to Africa and more specifically Botswana, but having been introduced to this unfamiliar country and being open to moving there, I credit to the work  and gentle nudging of a loving GOD, my FATHER who knew “the plans” He had for me before I did.

My daughter was right.  Although I had forgotten – if only temporarily – my desire, GOD had not.  I am sure that there is more to this opportunity than simply my desire.  I am confident that GOD has a bigger plan.  For now I am content to know that HE heard me and answered beyond what I had hoped or imagined…or remembered.

This is the beginning of me – “on my African journey” – stay tuned….

 

17 responses to “My African Journey Begins

  1. David

    July 31, 2011 at 5:28 AM

    Bless your heart!

     
  2. Glynis Chiswiti

    July 31, 2011 at 12:02 PM

    Here in Africa we seldom roll out the Red Carpet so when you arrive my friend.we will roll out the reed mats.

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      July 31, 2011 at 1:41 PM

      Glynis, I am so excited. Thanks for sharing the journey with me. Can’t wait to see you!

       
  3. Robin Farmer

    July 31, 2011 at 12:27 PM

    Excellent post! Keep writing so I can follow you on your journey. Life is what happens when we have other plans, right?

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      July 31, 2011 at 1:41 PM

      Exactly! Thanks for your kind words of encouragement Robin. I will keep writing.

       
  4. Shanna

    July 31, 2011 at 1:17 PM

    Thanks for sharing Mrs. Callins. I would like to continue to read about your African journey as everyone’s is different. So nice how divine it all seems. Wishing you well.

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      July 31, 2011 at 1:40 PM

      Thanks Shanna for taking the time to read it. I will update as often as I can. Divine. I agree.

       
  5. C D Ayers

    July 31, 2011 at 4:07 PM

    OMG!! How very exciting for you and David!! I relate to your statement “For me this meant perhaps a vacation for a couple of weeks – at best.” LOL Girl, go warn the people that the NEW & IMPROVED CDA (“Callins Detective Agency”) is coming to town! Hahaha I look forward to reading your daily posts of life here from your perspective with perhaps a side-email for the real story! Luv U and yes, I’ll ‘stay tuned!!’

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 1, 2011 at 8:49 AM

      Now, You know when I saw “CDA” I was thinking something else! I am so glad you clarified. LOL
      Thanks for reading!

       
  6. Cheryl

    July 31, 2011 at 9:22 PM

    I am so excited, happy and filled with anticipation for you. How awesome Charlotte! Please continue to write and keep us updated. Wow!

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 1, 2011 at 8:50 AM

      Cheryl,
      I am happy too! Thank-you for sharing in my excitement!

       
  7. Corrinne

    August 1, 2011 at 8:24 PM

    Great Post!

     
  8. Kanika

    August 3, 2011 at 11:47 PM

    Simply amazing! I’m so happy for you and David! It’s amazing how God always hears our prayers and gives us the desires of our hearts…even when we’ve moved on to something else. Thanks for starting this blog… I look forward to keeping up with your journey. Let me know when you get settled…I’d love to come visit…if you’ll have me as a guest! 🙂

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 4, 2011 at 4:42 AM

      I know, Hunh? You are welcome always welcome! ANYtime!
      Thanks for sharing! Don’t forget to subscribe.

       
  9. Dominique

    August 5, 2011 at 9:04 AM

    This sounds really exciting! I am excited just thinking about what new adventures lie in store for you!

     
    • onmyafricanjourney

      August 8, 2011 at 6:49 PM

      Thank-you! I am excited too! There is so much to look forward to. But the biggest thrill for me is just getting to see what GOD has in store during this time. Thanks for sharing this journey with me!

       

Leave a Reply

 
